The Eastern Oregon Museum – Our Beginnings
Our roots began as a hobby show in 1953. The Elkhorn Grange 908 initiated that event, offering visitors an opportunity to view hundreds of hand-crafted tools, pioneer artifacts, farming implements and unique rural collections.
Interest in the event and the items being displayed quickly grew well beyond the Grange’s capacity. A larger and more permanent location was needed. Fate stepped in – as it often does with history.
The Baker School District no longer had use of the Haines School gymnasium. Built in 1932, the building spanned 5,700 square feet. It’s arched roof, maple floors, dressing rooms, and office space presented hobby show enthusiasts with a perfect solution The building would not be left to decay, but instead continue as a place for the community to gather.
In 1959, the Eastern Oregon Museum was established – the first museum of its kind in Eastern Oregon.